Club Tournament Results 2016-2017

Home/Club News/Club Tournament Results 2016-2017

Club Tournament Results 2016-2017

Yesterday saw the Club finals for this years Tournament.

The afternoon was full of great matches starting with the juniors and finishing with an epic Club competition.

The final match was between Club Coach Andy and youngster Malik Bilen. Malik started off with what seemed to be a comfortable win in the first game . However Andy got back in form in the subsequent games playing super tight volleys down the backhand wall and pushing Malik to the back on most returns. There were a number of inspiring rallies that got the crowd roaring a number of times. A tired and achy Andy came out on top.

After the games a few speeches were made from our Club Chairman Stuart assisted in the presentation by Alistair who had put on the whole show and what a great show it was with food also being provided after the games. Well done Alistair.

Stuart commented on the current Free Membership Trial which so far had yielded 12 players. He urged everyone to support using the prepared leaflets and cards.

Presentations were then made to all of the players followed by the announcement of the Sally Woods trophy. A few words were given by Martyn Symmons about his long and loyal friend Mike Macnamee and why he had been specially chosen this year for the award. His long time support for the juniors and their coaching and his recent stint as Club Chairman which through his stewardship created the Club Professional Coach position which has benefitted the Club enormously.

The following presentations were made.


Sally Woods                 Mike McNamee

Club                                Andy D’Alessandro        bt          Malik Bilen

Club Plate                    Martyn Symmons           bt        Colin Walker

Ladies                            Debra Stephenson          bt        Sue Crossley

Handicap                     Tom Snaith                       bt       Jason Lane

Vets                                Andy D’Alessandro         bt         Alistair Maclean

Vets Plate                   Keith Maloney                 bt          Martyn Symmons

Vintage                       Alistair Maclean                bt        Martyn Symmons

Squash 57                   Steve Swanton                   bt      Colin Walker

Doubles                       Stuart Elmes & Graham Broughton        bt        Steve Swanton & Colin Walker

Most improved Junior             George Cave

U16                               Matt Hamilton                  bt      Alex King

U13                               Matt Hamilton                   bt     Isaac Broughton


The draw and results can be seen in the attached draw/results file

Below are some pictures taken during the presentations. There are also lots of action shots to be found at 2016-2017 Comberton Squash Tournament finals


Trophies and Plaques


The crowd assembles


Matthew Hamilton U13 Winner


George Cave Most improved Junior


Matthew Hamilton U16 winner


Proud mum


Graham Broughton and Stuart Elmes Doubles winners


Steve Swanton and Colin Walker doubles runners up


Tom Snaith Handicap Wunner


Jason Lane Handicap runner up


Steve Swanton Squash 57 Winner


Colin Walker Squash 57 runner up


Martyn Simmons Runner up Vets Plate


Keith Maloner winner vets plate


Alistair Maclean runner up mens vets


Andy D’Allessandro winner mens Vets


Martyn Siymmons runner up Vintage


Alistair Maclean winner Vintage


Colin Walker runner up Club plate


Martyn Simmons winner Club Plate


Sue Crossley Ladies runner up


Debra Stevenson Ladies Winner


A sneaky kiss!


Malik Bilen Mens runner up


Andy D’allesandro Club Champion


Hooray our trial membership is working!


…and now for the league winners special prize to David Cronk


Martyn talking about Sally Woods winner Mike Macnamee


Interest in Tom’s handicap trophy


By | 2017-06-01T11:03:55+00:00 Monday, May 22nd, 2017|Club News|Comments Off on Club Tournament Results 2016-2017

About the Author:

Dave Bradbury is the Membership Secretary and is webmaster for this website.